How my supervisor saved my PhD — the Goldilocks principle for mathematics | Junaid Mubeen

Mathematics is all in the asking
I almost flunked my maths PhD.
I had been forewarned that the journey to graduation would be paved with uncertainty; nothing like the smooth, linear path I travelled as an undergraduate. Research is a messy enterprise, and pure mathematics takes no prisoners.
Almost two years in, I was caught in the jumbled mess that is the hallmark of research. To acquire a PhD, one must make an original contribution to their field’s body of knowledge (or similar; I can’t recall the exact wording). However subjective that criteria might seem, I was clearly not meeting it.The…

Continue reading at:

http://ift.tt/2mhtnlo

Leave a Reply

