social media? sometimes it’s just nasty as **** | pat thomson

 

Like many of you I’m sure, I’ve been watching the extremely ugly and misogynist twitter assault on Mary Beard over the last week or so. Like many of you I’m sure, this has made me angry, sad and more than a bit worried. It’s a manifestation of a blood sport approach to debate that Mary – and multitudes of the rest of us – deplore.

The abusive combative exchange not only makes me feel ill, but also a bit despairing at the lack of change in academic cultures …. let me explain. 

When I was a young person, thinking about whether to pursue an academic career or not, there was a notable…

Continue reading at:

http://ift.tt/2hMaZ28

Leave a Reply

