A White Man in the London Stadium- reflections on watching sport | J Gray

My first ever major sporting event was an England v West Indies one day international at Edgbaston in 1976. It was possibly the most excited I’ve ever felt and I made my dad take me to the ground ridiculously early especially as it had just rained for the first time in that summer of drought. We were almost the first people in the ground and sat for no particular reason on the old Edgbaston hill. My memory is that by the time the match started we were amongst a large group of West Indies supporters celebrating a team as good as any the game has produced. England were beaten that day as they…

Continue reading at:

http://ift.tt/2wzUJEM

Leave a Reply

